free dinner

chai

Dave saw a blurb in Time Out Delhi about a group of people who gather to seek out hidden food gems in Delhi. He sent them an e-mail and suddenly we had dinner plans. We went to a Gurdwara Bangla Sahib, a Sikh temple, where we placed ornate scarves over our hair and walked around the temple, getting to know the members of the group (EOID). We then sat crossed legged on the floor where we were provided with tin plates and soon after, men came around with spoonfuls of hot dal and miscellaneous vegetable mush. It was pretty good! Afterwards we went to a roadside stall and talked some more over hot chai, ending the night at a restaurant for those still hungry (I had a scoop of pistashio ice cream with whipped cream).

30 responses to “free dinner

  1. Oh, you attended a langar (lung-er). In gurudwaras, they serve the most fantastic chana dal and halwa (a sort of porridge made from wheat flour). Next time… 🙂

  2. Pretty nice post. I just stumbled upon your weblog and wanted to say that I have truly enjoyed browsing
    your blog posts. In any case I’ll be subscribing to your feed and I hope you write once more
    very soon!

  3. I do not know whether it’s just me or if perhaps everyone
    else encountering issues with your website. It looks like some of the written text within your posts are running off the screen.
    Can someone else please provide feedback and let me know if this is happening
    to them too? This may be a problem with my browser because I’ve had this
    happen previously. Thanks

  4. Thanks for sharing your thoughts on home remodeling york pa.

    Regards

  5. Hi, Neat post. There is an issue with your web site in web explorer, may test this?
    IE nonetheless is the marketplace leader and a
    large portion of folks will omit your magnificent writing due to this
    problem.

  6. I constantly emailed this webpage post page
    to all my associates, because if like to read it after that my friends will too.

  7. Ԝoա, superb blog layout! Hoա long have you been blogginɡ for?
    you made blogginmg look easy. The overall look of your website is wonderful,
    let alone tɦe content!

  8. Thanks in favor of sharing such a pleasant thought, paragraph is fastidious, thats
    why i have read it completely

  9. She also has previously been a part of many racing series.
    Under the guidance of Porsche’s racing manager, Rico Steinemann, the 917
    program began to gain momentum. The art auctions that was
    held last week in New York has accumulated eight-figure numbers
    and has also set a record for a Warhol car wreck which are the quiet passions of the sedate and introspective
    art collectors.

  10. This is very interesting, You’re a very skilled blogger.

    I’ve joined your feed and look forward to
    seeking more of your great post. Also, I’ve shared your site in my social networks!

  11. always i used to read smaller content which also clear their motive, and
    that is also happening with this paragraph which I am reading at this time.

  12. I am really impressed along with your writing skills as well
    as with the structure to your weblog. Is that this a
    paid subject or did you customize it your self? Anyway keep up the excellent high quality
    writing, it is uncommon to look a nice blog like this one today..

  13. I’m impressed, I have to admit. Rarely do I come across a blog that’s both equally educative and amusing, and let me tell you, you have hit the
    nail on the head. The problem is something that too few men
    and women are speaking intelligently about. I’m very happy
    that I came across this during my hunt for something concerning this.

  14. If the diagnosis is correct, half the battle is won.
    When I first began using a vitamin A lotion the redness started disappearing within a few days so
    that my skin tone looked more even. These kind of also are certain that the actual KP does not
    come back.

  15. Greetings! Very useful advice within this article! It is the little changes
    that make the greatest changes. Thanks a lot for sharing!

  16. It’s hard to find experienced people in this particular subject,
    however, you seem like you know what you’re talking about!
    Thanks

  17. Great blog you have here but I was wanting to know if you knew of
    any forums that cover the same topics talked about here?
    I’d really like to be a part of online community where I can get suggestions from other experienced people that share the same interest.
    If you have any recommendations, please let me know.

    Thanks a lot!

  18. An outstanding share! I have just forwarded this onto
    a co-worker who has been doing a little research on this. And he in fact ordered me lunch due
    to the fact that I stumbled upon it for him… lol.
    So allow me to reword this…. Thanks for the meal!! But yeah, thanks for spending time to talk about this matter here on your site.

  19. Again thank you for fun, however, that goes
    through in your own urine. President Obama last week on the south side of the event.
    You can avoid any limo problem. The stereo, TV? Therefore, limo go
    plan your Rajasthan tour package. There are so many options in their fleet.

  20. If you are just starting out to the app store,
    then the information provided through this article
    will help you a lot in getting a best app for your i-phone.
    Even the cheaper smartphones are using satellite station for GPS receiver.
    Games are filled with lively colors and animations that are bound to confine
    the game player.

  21. I savor, cause I found exactly what I was looking for.
    You’ve ended my four day long hunt! God Bless you man. Have a
    nice day. Bye

  22. Choose the precious gem prized for generations by
    monarchs to express feelings of true devotion to your betrothed.
    Take advantage of this unique opportunity now and add this collector’s masterpiece to your home collection. George
    websites now contain nearly a hundred pages directly or indirectly
    related to his Rosicrucian research, which in turn led him to the Shakespeare controversy.

  23. What i do not realize is in truth hhow you’re no longer really a lot more neatly-appreciated than you may
    be now. You’re so intelligent. You understand theeefore considerably in relation too thuis matter, made me for my part imagine it from numerous various angles.
    Its like women and men are not interested except it’s one thing to accomplish
    with Woman gaga! Your individual stuffs nice. At all
    times maintain it up!

  24. This leads to confusion when you are trying to locate it.
    Soak it in water for a few minutes or so and you are ready to go.
    So enjoy and download your favourite free wallpaper backgrounds.

  25. These websites have an exclusive collection of
    most adored heroines. Alicia Keys is a moving performer with an intuitive and
    trained talent for music. It is true that, Madhuri had got a
    skill from very beginning, but the skill had been given a professional touch by Saroj khan and other famous choreographer of
    the Hindi film industry.

  26. Excellent article. Keep posting such kind of info on your page.
    Im really impressed by it.
    Hey there, You’ve done a fantastic job. I will definitely digg it and
    in my opinion recommend to my friends. I’m confident they will be benefited from this website.

  27. Orang-orang menyebut musik Rhoma Irama adalah musik dangdut tetapi ternyata Rhoma Irama sendiri lebih memilih menyebut
    jenis musiknya adalah irama Melayu.

  28. Asking questions are in fact nice thing if you are not understanding anything totally, except this paragraph provides nice understanding even.

  29. Registered user systems and a killer community.

  30. I love what you guys are up too. This type of clever work and exposure!
    Keep up the awesome works guys I’ve incorporated you guys to my
    own blogroll.

Leave a Reply

