getting the hang of things

If you’re not poor, you’re powerful. The sooner you accept that, the easier things will be. I’ve never thought of myself as rich, and over the last few years as my life has gotten easier financially, I’ve always prided myself on continuing to be thrifty. But leave your stingy platitudes behind here; most people are dirt poor and there’s no doubt in anyone’s mind that you – to them – might as well be Bill F-ing Gates.

As well as accepting I’m filthy rich, I’ve also stopped tyring to get lost in a crowd (which is a laughable idea, by the way, because my every movement is closely monitored by just about everyone). Every store has an excessive number of employees and to each one, it’s their job to serve you. Browsing confuses them. I’ve learned to allow them to help me. For instance, I went to a pharmacy and asked the saleswoman for shampoo. She then showed me several brands. I inspected them, asked the price of those I was interested in, and made my selection. I then ask for bandaids. Again, she showed me a selection. This time I didn’t like any, and rejected them all. It’s actually quite fun once you get the hang of it.

2 responses to “getting the hang of things

  1. HAHAHA!! I agree! This is SO hard to get used to. In the U.S., I hate stores where clerks constantly ask you if they can help you. It’s a bit overwhelming at first in India, but I got used to it, too. It’s hard not to act a bit queenly after a while. :o)

  2. Hello! 🙂

    Actually, it’s not about being rich or poor. We just figure that since you guys don’t understand Hindi, you might be swindled by shopkeepers, peddlers and the like and therefore try to help you out.

    But to have people trying to be of help everywhere you go must be quite… flattering, I guess. You must indeed feel “queenly”, to borrow a word from Nicole. :p

    Anyway, enjoy life in India.

Leave a Reply

