the monsoon exists (and it’s early)

I didn’t really believe the monsoon existed in Delhi. (For some reason, I also didn’t believe Delhi had a winter either; but it was so cold in December that Dave had to buy me a long, puffy jacket when he went back to New York.)

But I can now say I have seen, felt, and itched the fact that Monsoon Wedding isn’t an oxymoron movie title.

According to the news, the monsoon is here early, and it’s killing people. So what’s it like?

1) Delhi is a very dirty city. I always bemoaned the lack of rain to wash the streets clean. Well, now it’s all just mud.

2) Mosquitoes! I haven’t seen many since last fall, but they have hatched. It’s still hot, so when I got home I changed into shorts and a tank top and then ate my dinner watching the Discovery Channel. Thirty minutes later I was shocked when I went to the bathroom and looked at myself in the mirror and found all my exposed skin covered in bites. Seeing them made the itch begin. I’m now dressed in a long sleeved shirt, pants and socks. Eh, I’m getting overheated.

3) Despite all this rain, life goes on. Motorcycles are a cheap and convenient means of transportation in India, and if you are used to commuting on your motorcycle with your wife sitting side-saddle behind you while wearing a sari, there’s really nothing much you can do about the rain. You just zoom along with the rain pouring on you, sloshing through puddles, and hope you dry before you have to go somewhere again.

8 responses to “the monsoon exists (and it’s early)

  1. What is it you are doing in India and why did you decide to move there for work?

    Also, how easy or hard has it been for you to integrate? has it been easier because you are white? I’ve heard Africans who’ve moved to India complain about the insipid racism. What’s your opnion on this color issue?

    Also, how would you rate India in terms of it’s ability to catch up with the u.s. on the technological scale? since everyone is talking about India’s rising economy, do you see them becoming a serious competitor to America?

  2. Dave and I both work in advertising. We decided to move to India because our life in Brooklyn was getting boring. I wanted to move to China, but Dave wanted to go to India because of the food. In the end it was his job which got us here – so he won.

    We get along in India just fine. I have no idea if it is easier because we are white – as I’ve never been anything but white. There are certainly more whites here than Africans. I have noticed they get stared at more than me (and I get that a lot), but I have no idea if they are treated badly too.

    I’m not in technology, so again I can’t say if it’s catching up to America. But there are a lot of problems which can’t be solved quickly: pollution, infrastructure, poor schools and the effects of the caste system.

  3. Hi Jenny,

    I found your blog whilst browsing at the expat webbie. Your blog is so interesting to read, as we are thinking to move to India perhaps, end of this year.

    My husband got an offer to work in Delhi. I have a son, who is turning 5 next month, and I have been browsing for all the international schools they have in India.

    Currently, am residing in Sydney ( but of us are not Australian. My husband is Irish, and am Malaysian and my son was born in England, and of course, he’s a Brit ). Work that brought us here and to tell you the truth, yeah I enjoy Sydney very much.

    But to make money, moving to India seems a wise decision.

    fortunately, the company is willing to fly us there, just to experience the country.

    My husband is itchy to move, whilst am a bit 50/50.

    What say you ?

    thanks
    M

  4. I know what you mean about getting stared at in India. I got BLATANTLY stared a by people. It was a little odd, but a little exciting, too. :o)

  5. What are the things you enjoy most about life in India and what are the things you hate the most (or what has been the most difficult part of your adjustment in india?)

  6. Love your blog! As an Indian, I take everything around me for granted and don’t usually notice things as good or bad (until I am in the US for a long duration, and then everything back home seems good). It helps to see things from a foreigner’s perspective. I can see some rather nasty comments here from fellow Indians; hopefully, that won’t discourage you from continuing to be candid about your experiences. Cheers!

  7. My husband and I are traveling to India on Aug 4 for three weeks. We had been told that Northern India would be best for our time period, but lately I’ve been advised that the monsoons are out of Southern India in August. Do you have suggestions?

  8. jenny and dave

    Rebecca – It’s quite hot in Delhi in August, as well as in Rajasthan. For the best advise on where to travel to, visit this website.
    http://www.indiamike.com

Leave a Reply

