driving with Sunita

There are supposedly 100,000 autorickshaw drivers in Delhi. But it took me only nine months of daily rides to find Sunita, the only female driver among them.

By now I’m practiced at negotiating, and I know how much it costs to go to work, so I almost let her go on her way because I wasn’t about to pay eighty rupees for a fifty-rupee ride. But I gave in at sixty, just for the novelty of the ride.

3 responses to “driving with Sunita

  1. I remember the last time I was in Delhi. I am pretty sure there are more than 100,000 rickshaw drivers. It seemed as though there was one every five feet or so.

  2. sunnysideofliving

    Hey guys…..autorikshaws form a part of our culture too…!!! 🙂
    PS: my name is sunitha too 🙂

  3. Pingback: how to enjoy Delhi during the Commonwealth Games (despite what the media says) | Our Delhi Struggle

Leave a Reply

