rural roads

Sitting in the traffic jams I endure to and from work, the air conditioning too cold but the air outside too polluted to open the window, I fantasize about driving outside of Delhi. I imagine breathing freely and relaxing my neck muscles from their constant vigilance against stop-and-go whiplash. I yearn for the casual drives of youth in suburbia: picking a road out of town, following it to its conclusion, and encountering no other cars along the way.

Such drives aren’t found in India. Here, the rural roads are terrifying.

Not in the way roads outside of Denver were terrifying, where teenagers on a high school joyride scared each other with urban legends of a Third Bridge haunted by dead cheerleaders and massacred (American) Indians and where sheer supernatural panic set in when, on one perfectly cloudless and starry night, I swear to God it suddenly started snowing just as we crossed that infamous span. No, in rural India, the terror is of the fear-for-your-life, look-out-for-that-buffalo! sort caused by the sight of overburdened, hand-painted, snub-faced Ashok Leyland goods haulers barreling down on you, bouncing erratically on oil-encrusted struts, Kali’s tongue growing huge in your windshield as she cackles at your imminent demise, the high-pitched yowls of their unnaturally loud horns echoing in your skull until your driver nonchalantly pulls slightly left, opening up a gap that’s exactly wide enough for a speeding truck to pass through without killing anyone.

It’s not that the composition of traffic inside and outside cities is very different. In both cases you dodge vehicles and animals and funeral processions while men repairing scooters hang their rears into oncoming traffic and trucks park wherever they please. While the countryside does add a few variations — reducing the number of sedans and adding villagers who spread raw grain on the road so traffic can save them the trouble of crushing it — the difference is in attitude.

Everyone wants to get there first. So everyone is endlessly accelerating ahead of everyone else, shifting into the opposite lane to jump the vehicle in front of them. This turns every two-lane road into a four-lane road: two lanes coming, two lanes going, both on the same two lanes.

It’s vertical Frogger.

Cars are passing trucks, trucks are passing busses, busses are passing carts. If you’re not braking in panic then you’re flooring it in impatience. You’re either swinging into the opposite lane to get ahead of one bus or plunging back into the proper lane to dodge another.

Drivers are both terrifyingly reckless and shockingly precise: you avoid death by a consistent six foot margin each time.

And even if your driver is staying in the proper lane — if, somehow, your wide eyes and pathetic whimpers have convinced him, for the sake of your poor tourist hearts, to take it a little easier — oncoming traffic is not so considerate. Massive walls of unwashed metal grow in your windshield as they pass equally massive walls of unwashed metal on their left. Might makes right: they’re not slowing down, so you sure as hell better. Your driver stomps on the brakes and pulls to the left, and you are once again spared by six feet from becoming road paranthra.

No wonder India is such a religious country. On my trips outside of Delhi, I’ve found God every time.

14 responses to “rural roads

  1. ROFL! I love the part about Kali’s tongue!
    You should see my photo set of traffic slogans in Delhi, right here.

    PS- I’m coming home to Delhi this weekend for Diwali- would love to meet you both!

  2. I’ve always thought it’s the religion which allows them to drive like that. Leave driving all up to Karma!

  3. @Mikel: yup. And then our karma runs over your dogma 😛

  4. “Vertical Frogger!” 🙂

  5. I got a great piece of advice once: when you’re driving in India, you’re responsible for the lives of everyone on the road.

  6. *and you are once again spared by six feet from becoming road paranthra.

    6 ft is huge distance, two bikes and one dog can pass through it comfortably 😉

  7. It is scary to drive in India. I am always afraid I might become a “Road Parantha” – hence I am a master at ” Defensive Driving” – when in India. (you have to think that you are in a war zone & all are out to attack you – 😉 )

    That said, having lived in India for 25 years – I have sometimes indulged (in the past) in “Maniacal Driving” – looking back I shudder to think – that i actually survived that road weaving, constant honking, mad as a hatter driving binges.

    I guess I was lucky!

  8. Sounds like the dangers you face when riding a bicycle in San Francisco

  9. Hi Rex — just saw your comment. Unfortunately we’re leaving early tomorrow for a week in Rajasthan. Next time!

  10. I felt the same way about Nepal and Kathmandu. Getting out of the city was worse, not better. Having ridden a motorcycle in NYC for 7 years, I thought I had a handle on aggressive driving. You couldn’t pay me to ride in the Desh. Love this blog by the way.

  11. They say in india when you are on the road, you need three things… good brake, good horns and good luck!!

    btw, love your blog and your observations..as an indian living in the US.. I can totally understand the idiosyncracies that you point out…i took me year to figure out that local weather is more important than any other world event in the US!

  12. This piece is hilarous. i have lived in Delhi most of my teen years, and always found it full of adventure, but you have painted such a colorful picture it makes me want to go back and experience it again. Canada and the US driving is dull enough to make one sleepy, not that i m complaining. I think I just pulled a muscle laughing…:D
    Let me know if you wish to experience authentic Indian village life i could hook you up with some family i have in Haryana(few hrs drive from delhi).

  13. Pingback: NBC takes on expat life in India « Our Delhi Struggle

  14. Do you mind if I quote a couple of your articles as long as I provide credit and sources back to your website?
    My website is in the exact same area of interest as yours and my users would definitely benefit from a lot of the information
    you present here. Please let me know if this alright with you.
    Thanks a lot!

Leave a Reply

